A Holy Rest: Exodus 20:8-11

“Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work. But the seventh day is a sabbath to the LORD your God; you shall not do any work– you, your son or your daughter, your males or female slave, your livestock, or the alien resident in your towns. For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but rested the seventh day; therefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day and consecrated it.” Exodus 20:8-11

I live in a culture where resting is equated with laziness. In our high paced culture, we fill our days with activity after activity, and task after task. Much of which are good things, even necessary things. I work. I go to the gym two to four times a week. Lately I have numerous doctor’s appointments. We have social commitments. Somewhere amidst all this, we pay our bills, we (try to) clean our house, do our dishes, go to the grocery store, fix dinner, breakfast, lunch. The weekend starts to seem like the opportune time to catch up on all the tasks I couldn’t complete during the week. Missing in all the busyness is an entire Sabbath day. Church on Sunday morning sure. But a twenty-four hour window of rest every week–who has time for that? I don’t. At least, I don’t feel like I do.

I’m really working out what it means to honor the Sabbath and keep it holy. By Sabbath I think the passage means taking a day of rest, rather than just going to church on Sunday morning. (Though going to church is a good thing.) The passage talks about resting, because God rested after creation. To keep something holy is to set it apart. To hold it as sacred, separate from other things. Keeping something holy means creating boundaries, making choices.

And I have other thoughts about this passage, but I’m losing track of what I’m thinking as it is late. My spring fever energy rush has finally plummetted.

Questions or comments?

