Practicing Gratitude

Between my time spent hanging out with the lectionary texts on Saturday and the message from Saturday’s night church service, I’ve been doing some thinking on gratitude. I’ve been trying to take stocks of things that I’m grateful for throughout the day; last thing before I fall asleep, first thing when I wake up, and throughout the day when I start feeling the zing of frustration. And I find I’m much calmer for the exercise. And it’s good practice for a pessimist like me to start changing how I view my own life. Sometimes I write down items. Sometimes I just make a mental checklist. And sometimes I’m just grasping at straws to find something that is good. But if I give myself enough time – I eventually come up with something or two.

Leave a Reply

