Brokenness and Renewal

A few years ago, I came across a Pearls Before Swine comic that I had clipped and saved (and how I wish I could still find it now!).  Goat starts telling Pig that the recycling takes everyone’s junk, and turns it into something new.  Cut to the next morning: Pig sitting in the recycling bin waiting to be made into something new.

And I wonder how often we are like that.  Seeing ourselves as broken. Useless.  Worthless.  But, I’ve been reminded in the last few weeks that is not how God sees us.
Our view of ourselves might be quite skewed.

About a year or so ago, while J and I were in Chicago around Christmas, my mother-in-law called to let us know that part of our fence had blown down in a windstorm.  We come home to find the entire back wall of the fence flattened on the ground with rotted posts.  In short, the fence was now useless.  J pulled the fence over to the side of the yard and propped them up – unsure of what to do with these ugly old fences.

Then this summer, at our garage sale, J posted a sign that the fencing was free if someone would haul it away.  I thought – there’s no way that anyone would be interested in the garbage fence. And kind of wanted J to just take the fence to the dump.  But he insisted and I relented.

And our friend Jesse wanted the fence.  He saw value and potential in what I perceived as junk.  And from the old fence boards, he crafted some incredibly beautiful canoe paddles.

And I think this is the kind of thing that God wants to do in us if we’re willing.  Willing to let him scrape off the rot, the mold, and to craft us into something made new and beautiful.  Willing to trust that God does have a plan for us, and that it is a good one (even if it doesn’t initially appear that way).

Leave a Reply

