Chasing Squirrels

One of the things that I love about my husband is the way that he takes care of our vegetable garden.  Because of his tender care in planting, watering and weeding – I get to harvest a whole lot of awesome produce all summer long.

There’s another aspect of his care for the garden that I also enjoy: his antics in chasing squirrels out of the garden.  I only have to mention a squirrel lurking by the chicken wire around the garden, and he bolts out the door.  Then runs full speed at the squirrel(s) yelling nonsense and chasing them away from the garden.  And I stand (or sit) in the sun room laughing, and wondering whether the neighbors think we’re crazy (And I’ll own that we are, but maybe not for the reasons that they may think.).

I’m deathly afraid of squirrels due to some bad experiences in college, so there’s no way I’m helping to chase them.  Currently, it’s a win-win for me.  I get free entertainment.  And I get to keep more tomatoes as it seems to be keeping the squirrels from picking a tomato, taking a bite and then chucking the fruit to the ground.

Leave a Reply

